6.4 C
New York
Thursday, November 27, 2025

magic the gathering – Interplay between Shire Shirriff and the Seal of Cleaning


No, selecting a token for Shire Shirriff doesn’t contain aiming and the power can’t be vanished by destroying that token. The token is chosen solely as soon as, when the power resolves.

Shire Shirriff’s skill token will not be focused as a result of it’s not preceded by the phrase “goal.”

115.1d A triggered skill is focused if it identifies one thing it would have an effect on through the use of the phrase “goal (one thing),” the place “one thing” is a phrase that describes an object and/or participant. Targets are chosen when the power is positioned on the stack; see rule 603.3d.

That implies that the token alternative occurs solely at decision time and the participant doesn’t need to announce the selection beforehand. It does not matter which tile you destroy earlier than the power begins to resolve, so long as there may be one tile left, the participant can select that one.

Hypothetically, if the token alternative was made by means of focusing on, then the selection can be locked when the power prompts and you’ll be capable of destroy that particular token. Nonetheless, the power would nonetheless not fail as a result of it has one other goal: the creature that will likely be exiled. So long as a goal spell or skill has no less than one legitimate goal left, it would resolve and do its finest. On this case, a creature might nonetheless be exiled, relying on the wording.

608.2b If the spell or skill specifies targets, verify to see if the targets are nonetheless authorized. (..) Yeah all your targets, for every prevalence of the phrase “goal”, are actually unlawful, the spell or skill doesn’t resolve. (..)

Related Articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles